Wednesday, March 14, 2007

Bible Drill

I can remember back in the day when church was a weekend long event. Saturday we had Usher Board meeting, choir rehearsal, BTU (Baptist Training Union), which included the infamous Bible Drill. Sunday we had Sunday School, Morning Worship Service, we had lunch in in the Church Dining Hall and went back for Afternoon Service or Pastors Anniversary, or some other acknowledgement service. We went home for dinner and came back for the Evening Service.

At 7 and 8 years old this was not exactly our idea of weekend fun. My cousin and I would always try to sneak off to the corner store to buy candy and would inevitably get busted. Our aunt would catch us on our way back in, and re-introduce us to the "switch".

By the grace of God, all of that church training, bible drills and such stuck. A friend sent me this on line Bible Drill, and I was amazed at how many times I answered 10 of 10 or 8 of 10 questions correctly. Each time you answer 10 questions, it will give you your score, and the opportunity to answer 10 more questions. It's pretty cool, check it out! Just click on the Bible Drill heading above, and let the games begin.

Tuesday, March 13, 2007

I'm It, I've Been Tagged!

So, Linda tagged me like a month ago (bless her heart), and well, here I am, better late than never. This is not easy, I had to dig a little cause I like to keep it real. Here I go...Five things that make me who I am:

1. I love, love, love the Lord, my Father, my Savior, Jesus Christ. I thank him for his mercy, his goodness, and his saving grace. You don't have to believe me when I say that I was wreckless and wretched from my teens to my early thirties (God knows). Through all of my trials and tribulations, he never left me nor forsake me, and because of that, today, deliverance is mine. Thank you Jesus! (I'm also a Christmas baby 12/25/67).

2. I am the only child of Precious and Myrna Allums, and am consequently spoiled, but not rotten.

3. I am married (5.5 years), to my soul mate (second marriages for both of us). Between us we have 7 children; 2 mine, 4 his, 1 adopted. Only one lives at home, my 16 year old son, who I home school. My husband is Mexican (born in Mexico) but I did not find that out until 2-3 months into dating him when I overheard him speaking Spanish on the phone). It didn't matter to me though as I believe there is only one race - human, but different cultures within the race. His brother used to be married to my cousin on my father's side who I had never met until after I married my husband. All three of them work for the same employer - but in different departments.

4. I am a loving and nurturing person who loves animals second to people. We currently have 2 dogs (a Toy Poodle and a Pitt Bull mix), and a Kentucky Mountian Horse. The pets I have had in the past: Birds (Conyer, Parakeets); Rabbit, Guinea Pigs, Cats, Tropical Fish, Turtle, 2 quarter horses.

5. I love to travel, and am trying to see the all of the places I want to go which are farthest, while I'm young and have stamina and endurance, and save the United States for the RV when we retire. So far, I've been to: Egypt, Australia, Thailand, St. Lucia, Mexico, Canada, Arkansas, Ohio, Michigan, Illinois, Arizona, New York, Mississippi, Louisiana, Texas, Nevada, Oregon, Florida, and Georgia. Where I want to go: Africa, (Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa), Vietnam, Greece, Italy, Morocco, Spain, Jerusalem, Mecca, Jamaica, Martinique, The Maldives, Micronesia. Too many places to name!
Ok, that's a little bit about me. I'm tagging Sony, Ree-C, and Leighann